Posted on

Best of 2012

Looks like I picked a good year to start a movie blog! 2012 took people by surprised, a slow burn of a year where it seemed like the quality of film as a whole was bumped up a notch, so it’s tricky to pick just five films I enjoyed the most this year, but I’ll do my best.

1) Beasts of the Southern Wild –While it may get edged out come award season by higher profile films, Hushpuppy (played with a compelling blend of sweetness and rage by newcomer Quvenzhane Wallis) and her home The Bathtub will stay with me for years to come.
2) Moonrise Kingdom- It’s fitting that Wes Anderson’s most mature film would be about two twelve year olds in love. Anderson has found a perfect balance of quirk that makes one excited for what the future has in store for this established auteur.
3) Lincoln- One of our country’s most beloved heroes is given passion and humor with Daniel Day-Lewis delivering the performance to beat this awards season. While focusing only on the last few months of Lincoln’s life, you leave the film feeling like you spent two hours in the president’s presence. While the passing of an amendment seems like a snooze, the script provides a surprising amount of laughs.
4) Sleepwalk with Me- Rising comedy star Mike Birbiglia brings his strength as a storyteller to his first leading role. This very autobiographical story of a struggling comedian trying to balance his relationship and his growing career while battling a severe sleepwalking disorder, is a terrific blend of humor and sadness.
5) Safety Not Guaranteed- The year’s most surprising comedy takes an unexpected take on time travel and boasts a strong cast.
Other strong contenders include Zoe Kazan’s screenwriting debut Ruby Sparks and blockbuster juggernauts like The Avengers and Hunger Games. Keep in mind I haven’t seen Django Unchained, Argo, or Les Miserables, all films I have been greatly looking forward to all year.

About amandalovesmovies

Lifelong movie lover who's ready to share her two cents with the world! Follow me on twitter @tuxedopengin

19 responses to “Best of 2012

  1. ckckred

    Good picks. I still need to see a few more films before I make my own but I think it would look pretty similar.

  2. Great pics! I am also waiting to write up my list ’cause I want to make sure to see a few more films (“Zero Dark Thirty”, “Django Unchained”, amongst others) before making any final decisions! 😉

  3. You need to go see Hugo ASAP!!! Scorsese is a genius!

  4. John S.

    Be prepared for 2013: the year of the sequel, remake, and reboot…
    Die Hard 5, Iron Man 3, Wizard of Oz, Fast/Furious 6, Star Trek 2, How to Train a Dragon 2, Man of Steel, Monsters Inc. 2, Despicable Me 2, Grown Ups 2, Dirty Dancing, Smurfs 2, 300…2, Austin Powers 4, Hangover 3, Pirates 5, Robocop, Thor 2, Wolverine 2 to name a few

  5. mediamugshot ⋅

    I’d like to see “Sleepwalk With Me.” You’re the second person that noted “Beasts of the Southern Wild.” I’ll have to check it out! Cool list!

  6. rochpikey

    Nice! I like the representation of independent films on you list. I really wanted to see Sleepwalk with me but it never came to a theater near me. Glad to see you gave safety Not Guaranteed some love too.

  7. ruth

    That’s cool that you started your blog in 2012. Well, I’ve only seen 1 from your list, but I’d have to rent Lincoln when it’s available.

  8. Great list, I really want to watch Sleepwalk With Me. I plan on watching it soon.

  9. LaTrosa

    I have seen oly one of those, what am I doing!

  10. I really need to see Safety Not Guaranteed. Nice list!

  11. Good list! I need to get on your number 1 pick!

Leave a Reply

