Posted on

The Breakfast Club

The Breakfast Club is, in my opinion, the greatest teen movie of all-time. I think what makes it so amazing is that it doesn’t try to make high school into this magic place where we make friendships that last forever and experience our first loves, but instead, it presents it as a place where we are all trying to act like everything is ok but we’re all equally confused and hurt on the inside. It shows that no matter how different people may look on the outside, we all experience pain. I kind of feel like the world would be a better place if life was more like this movie, where everyone’s shit was out in the open . There would be less misunderstandings.

The kids follow boy band logic, have different enough members so everyone has someone to relate to. I define anyone to not see themselves in one of the protagonists. Each character puts a lot of effort to live up to their titles, even as they hate how suffocating it is. This reminded me how in school people would tell me they were planning to cheat off my test because I was “Smart, right?” and feeling a lot of pressure to do well so the person copying me didn’t get pissed off when I gave them wrong answers. Totally stupid, right? That being said, I always identified with Alison, the basket case, the most.

This movie may prove that every human being on the planet Earth was fucked up, in some way, by their parents. Each of the kid reason for being in detention that day was in some way related to how they felt about their parents. Whether they felt pressure to be perfect or neglect, their pain led them all to their high school’s library on a Saturday afternoon. One of the saddest moments is when Andrew admits to pulling a mean prank against a weaker boy to make his father proud and imagining the other kid having to tell his father what happened at school that day. They’re all trying so hard to win their parents’ love, all while hoping they never turn into them.

One thing I appreciate a lot about this movie is that at least the majority of the kids admit to being virgins. John & Andrew are the only ones who never say anything concrete. They are all so embarrassed by the truth, even though it’s clear that being a virgin in high school isn’t that so strange after all. A lot of current teen shows and movies focus on the fact that TEENS HAVE SEX!!!! But most of the people I know were virgins until senior year at the earliest. I do think there needs to be less focus on high school being this non-stop sex party. Not to be a prude, but sex is a big deal, with consequences and I think it’s ok to make it clear to teens that some people are lying through their teeth and not everyone is “doing it”. Ok, off my soapbox.

My favorite scene is when they talk about what they are going to be to each other after that day. I feel like there are so many people in your life that you share a real connection with, only to lose touch with them because the relationship is too troublesome to maintain. It’s a little bit of a cop-out that they sort of partner off. John and Claire, maybe, but they seem to admit it’s just going to be fling at best. But Andrew and Alison come out of no where and he really only notices her when she stops being herself. And how sad is it that Brian is left alone to write their paper? A more realistic ending would be to show the five walking past each other and totally ignoring one another.

Favorite Quote:

Brian Johnson: I’m a fucking idiot because I can’t make a lamp?
John Bender: No. You’re a genius because you can’t make a lamp.

About amandalovesmovies

Lifelong movie lover who's ready to share her two cents with the world! Follow me on twitter @tuxedopengin

7 responses to “The Breakfast Club

  1. spinflight ⋅

    Have you seen The Sure Thing? It’s a gem of that time and genre. Wang Chung’s Dance Hall Days played during the party scene is one of the things that makes it great. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the Like on my blog… I like your reviews! I want to say that there is a tie for best teen movie, in my opinion: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and your choice. I am torn between these two, as they are both so good in their own way.

  3. atothewr ⋅

    Two weeks Bender, you want some more, so, . . . that whole segment there is just classic. You make me want to go and watch this one again.

    Great review and a nice site. I will enjoy reading more of your reviews in the future.

  4. drewpan

    Great review!

    I think that last scene where they discuss what will happen the next day added a lot of realism to the movie. The characters are a teeny weeny bit stereotyped (like a boy band, as you said), so this scene was much-needed to say that this isn’t an idealized school where a single chance detention will completely fix school society and make it a more understanding place.

    If I’m not wrong, this is one of the first movies ever where Hollywood admitted that kids do have issues with their parents, and that not every parent knows what they’re doing.

    That said, I immensely enjoyed Not Another Teen Movie. While it is generally considered a “parody”, I honestly feel that it is more of a homage to 80s and 90s teen flicks, rather than shamelessly feeding off its source material like Epic Movie and Scary Movie.

  5. Great review of a terrific film. I identify with Bender because we had similar experiences at home.
    As a blogger, do you ever punch yourself after writing a really good posting like Brian does at the end of the film? haha.

Leave a Reply

